Buy Online Jimi Hendrix - Songs For Groovy Children: The Fillmore East Concerts

Jimi Hendrix

Songs For Groovy Children: The Fillmore East Concerts Vinyl Boxset

Boxset £120.00

Release Date: 13/12/2019

Discs: 8

Songs For Groovy Children assembles all four historic debut concerts by Jimi Hendrix’s newly assembled Band of Gypsys at New York’s Fillmore East on New Years Eve 1969 and New Years Day 1970.

Presented in their original performance sequence and encompassing 43 tracks across 8 LPs, the set boasts over two dozen tracks that have either never before been released commercially. Newly mixed and restored in sequence without edits, fans can finally hear Hendrix, Cox and Miles blast through their genre-defying sets that included freshly written songs like “Earth Blues” and “Stepping Stone,” as well as supercharged Experience favorites inclusive of “Foxey Lady,” “Voodoo Child (Slight Return),” “Wild Thing,” “Hey Joe” and “Purple Haze.”

The lavish package is filled with unseen photos and remembrances from bassist Billy Cox and liner notes by author/journalist/filmmaker Nelson George.  Songs For Groovy Children was produced by Janie Hendrix, Eddie Kramer and John McDermott and mastered by Grammy-winning engineer Bernie Grundman.


LP1 and LP2

1. Power Of Soul
2. Lover Man
3. Hear My Train A Comin'
4. Changes
5. Izabella
6. Machine Gun
7. Stop
8. Ezy Ryder
9. Bleeding Heart
10. Earth Blues
11. Burning Desire

LP3 and LP4

1. Auld Lang Syne
2. Who Knows
3. Fire
4. Ezy Ryder
5. Machine Gun
6. Stone Free
7. Changes
8. Message To Love
9. Stop
10. Foxey Lady

LP5 and LP6

1. Who Knows
2. Machine Gun
3. Changes
4. Power Of Soul
5. Stepping Stone
6. Foxey Lady
7. Stop
8. Earth Blues
9. Burning Desire

LP7 and LP8

1. Stone Free
2. Power Of Soul
3. Changes
4. Message To Love
5. Machine Gun
6. Lover Man
7. Steal Away
8. Earth Blues
9. Voodoo Child (Slight Return)
10. We Got To Live Together
11. Wild Thing
12. Hey Joe
13. Purple Haze