Buy Online Captain Beefheart - Live In Vancouver '81 Yellow

Captain Beefheart

Live In Vancouver '81 Yellow Vinyl

LP £20.00

Release Date: 11/10/2019

Discs: 1

In the early 80's Captain Beefheart and his Magic Band toured Europe and North America to promote their acclaimed album Doc At The Radar Station. This would be their final tour together. A year later, Don Van Vliet - aka Captain Beefheart - turned his back on the music business to focus on painting.

Broadcast live by CBC from the Commodore Ballroom in Vancouver on 17th January, 1981, this concert features a stunning set that showcased Beefheart's blues-based aural art served with a twist of brilliant madness. As the Captain said, 'If you got ears, you gotta listen.'

Captain Beefheart/Don Van Vliet: vocals, tenor saxophone, soprano saxophone, chinese gongs; Black Jew Kitabo/Eric Drew Feldman: bass guitar, synthesizer, mandolin, mellotron, electric piano; Robert 'Wait For Me' Williams: drums, percussion; Richard 'Midnight Hatsize' Snyder: guitar, slide guitar, bass guitar; Jeff Tapir/White Jew/Jeff Moris Tepper: guitar, slide-guitar

Side 1:

1. Nowadays A Woman's Gonna Hit A Man
2. Abba Zaba
3. Hot Head
4. Ashtray Heart
5. Dirty Blue Gene
6. Best Batch Yet.

Side 2:

1. A Carrot Is As Close As A Rabbit Gets To A Diamond
2. Doctor Dark
3. Bat Chain Puller
4. Sheriff Of Hong Kong
5. Kandy Korn
6. Big Eyed Beans From Venus