Buy Online Calexico - The Black Light (20th Anniversary Edition) Double Clear Vinyl


The Black Light (20th Anniversary Edition) Double Clear Vinyl

Double Heavyweight LP £25.00

Release Date: 23/11/2018

Discs: 2

An album about crossing physical and metaphorical borders that has never been timelier: Calexico’s classic album “The
Black Light“ turns 20 this year. This limited celebratory anniversary edition includes all new artwork by Victor Gastelum, extensive
linernotes, and 11 bonus tracks.#

What was surprising about The Black Light (and what set its architects apart from their indie rock peers) was the album’s unusual
willingness to wade into the rapids of American and Mexican culture, fully immersing itself midstream. From the outset, with ‘Gypsy’s
Curse’, the record combines guitar twang and flamenco flourishes; and by its end, almost an hour later, it’s contrived a skillful and
instinctive union of smoky bar room jazz, arthouse indie rock, and compelling mariachi brass in ‘Frontera’. If Calexico falls short as a
name, it’s only in the fact that - alongside their mining of Mexico’s fertile musical past - Joey Burns and John Convertino weren’t just
digging into California’s songbook...they were unearthing America’s too.


A1. Gypsy's Curse
A2. Fake Fur
A3. The Ride Pt.2
A4. Where Water Flows
A5. The Black Light
A6. Sideshow
A7. Chach
A8. Missing
B1. Minas De Cobre (For Better Metal)
B2. Over Your Shoulder
B3. Vinegaroon
B4. Trigger
B5. Sprawl
B6. Stray
B7. Old Man Waltz
B8. Bloodflow
B9. Frontera

Bonus Vinyl Side

C1. El Morro
C2. Man Goes Where Water Flows
C3. Glowing Heart Of The World
C4. Too Much Sprawl
C5. Rollbar
D1. Minas De Cobre (Extend-omix)
D2. Minas De Cobre (Spatial Mix)
D3. Minas De Cobre (Acoustic Mix)
D4. Lacquer
D5. Drape
D6. Bag Of Death