Buy Online The Animals - Five Animals Don't Stop No Show Vinyl

The Animals

Five Animals Don't Stop No Show Vinyl

LP £22.00 £15.40

Release Date: 29/04/2017

Discs: 1

By the Summer of 1966, the Animals were ready to call it a day. John Steele had bailed out back in February and Nashville Teens drummer Barry Jenkins was drafted in as his replacement. The band had decided to break up in May, but they were contracted to do a lengthy American tour along with teen stars Herman's Hermits, so the reluctant five-piece dragged themselves over to the States to fulfill the commitment.

But it turned out to be a pretty eventful tour, culminating in a trip to San Francisco where Eric Burdon saw the light. There, R&B was out but Psychedelia was very definitely in. The group cut a couple of tracks in Los Angeles with Frank Zappa, one of which, "The Other Side of This Life," came out as a US 45 in November after the break up.

Over on the East Coast, they played a gig at New York's Wollman Rink Central Park on August third and later on that evening, Chas Chandler had a Damascene moment after seeing an obscure, unsigned guitarist by the name of Jimi Hendrix. Chandler's days of playing bass were over. The group's last gig was on September fifth at the Steel Pier Resort in Atlantic City and that was it for the Animals – at least, until Burdon and The New Animals made their appearance.

Radio Sessions 1966

A1. Inside Looking Out
A2. Sweet Little Sixteen
A3. In The Wee Wee Hours
A4. Maudie
A5. She'll Return It
A6. John Steel
A7. One Monkey Don't Show No Show

US TV, March 1966

B1. Shake
B2. Don't Bring Me Down
B3. Inside Looking Out

Live At The Olympia Theatre, Paris, 16 March 1966

B4. That's All I Am To You
B5. One Monkey Don't Stop No Show
B6. It's My Life

Live On TV, October 1965

B7. Work Song